The Awhina Centre

Our Mission

The Awhina Learning Department seeks to support and enhance the academic and personal development of identified students, who need extra support for all or part of their day, within a safe annd positive learning environment through differentiated curriculum programmes and specialist classroom strategies.  The Department has a broad mandate fromt he college and its community to support students who have either global or specific learning difficulties.
The Department provides inclusive support to enable all students to access the curriculum and to experience success across a range of areas while at school through the provision of a combination of the following:
  • Extra assistance
  • Adapted programme or learning environments
  • Specialised equipment or materials.
Our Services
  • Differentiated curriculum programmes
  • Smaller classes
  • Teachers trained or training in special learning needs
  • Teacher aide support
  • Diagnostic assessment
  • Support for students with specific learning difficulties, e.g. dyslexia
  • NZQA Special Assessment Conditions coordination and assistance
  • Implementation of specialist programmes and/or alternative pathways for students with moderate/global learning needs, e.g. SPEC
  • Individual education plans for identified studentS
  • Co-ordination of Special Olympics
  • Provision of support for ORS-funded students.

Teaching Staff

Mrs Cheryl Jaffar - HOLA


Mrs Justine Gibson

Mrs Baljeet Kaure Saini


Teachers Aides

Mrs Janet Bean

Ms Katrina Devonshire

Ms Vanessa Forbes

Mrs Gillian Gouldstone

Ms Charlotte Hurst

Ms Vanessa Morrell

Ms Tasneem Saloojee