The classroom curriculum is divided into the key learning areas or departments:
  • Expressive Arts (includes Performing Arts and Visual Arts)
  • Health & Physical Education (includes Outdoor Education)
  • Languages (includes English and ESOL)
  • Technology
  • Business and Management          
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences
  • Social Sciences

Information on what each of our Departments offer is included in each Department's page. Students can also gain more information from accessing HowickNet.


Each key learning area is managed by a teacher who is Head of Learning Area (HOLA). Most Departments include more than one related subject, especially at senior levels, these subjects are are managed by teachers who are Subject Managers (or Head of Department/HOD).


Contact details for each Department are included in the Department pages or can be found here.